five great things someone else said

My name is Alex, and I’m a quote hoarder. From books to calligraphy to my love of typography – I heart words.

I began reading at three, and I was the precocious child dork who always loved extra credit book reports – I mean, why wouldn’t you want to read another book? I was about twelve when I began to fill journals with lines from books and songs and movies. In high school, I painted “A dream is a wish your heart makes” in the alcove above my big four-poster bed, going to sleep each night with plans to grow up and write for The New Yorker – one day, I’d write all night and read all day.

While I’ve yet to find my words set in Irvin type, I’ve spent most of my working life reading and writing, or reading and editing other people’s writing.

In seventh grade, my friend Erin and I started to swap quotes from our personal collections, and I knew then she was a friend for life. Twenty years later, we’re still sharing them, though these days they end up in Word files rather than Fiorucci angel-covered journals. (I miss those journals.)

I’m not sure which is better – finding a great quote or sharing one. So every Wednesday, Alexandra Wrote’s five great things someone else said. Jot them down, print them up, be inspired. And feel free to share your favorites, too.

xo a.

Let the beauty we love be what we do. – Rumi

If everybody likes you, you are not a very interesting person. – Bette Davis

As you get older, it is harder to have heroes, but it is sort of necessary. -Ernest Hemingway

When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us. – Helen Keller

I might repeat to myself slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound – if I can remember any of the damn things. – Dorothy Parker

 

Leave a Reply

