This right here. This post. This is why I blog.

Only connect…” – E.M. Forster, Howards End

A few years ago, I started listening to The Damnwells after hearing about them from my friend, Morgan. Just after that, a cousin I don’t see often happened to mention in a Facebook status that she was listening to the same album. It was like The Dawnwells were the new Kevin Bacon. It’s not such a surprise – they’re fabulous. (One day, I would like to write a film with a soundtrack entirely by The Damnwells – just putting that out to the universe.)

Then, last fall, Morgan wrote about her friends Alex and Angela, aka Mr & Mrs Damnwell, and one of her readers,  Stacey, who happened to be a big fan, contacted her.

And through the love and determination of this blogosphere, Sweet Water Child: Lullabies for Getty was born.

The Internet is a fickle thing –  some days I think I’m done with you, and then you go and melt my heart with your kindness.

THE FACTS:

Getty Emelia Storm – her name is poetry, isn’t it? –  has the brightest, bluest eyes I’ve ever seen.

Getty Emelia Storm just celebrated her first birthday.

Getty Owl, as her family calls her, has Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA).

SMA is the #1 genetic killer of young children. 1 in 40 people carry the gene that causes this neurological disorder. Anyone, anyone can be a carrier.

But, there is great hope – the NIH believes that out of 600 neurological illnesses this is the one closest to a cure, and the cure could come in as little as five years – WITH ENOUGH FUNDING.

And this is where you where you can give a birthday gift to Getty Owl.  A gift to all families affected by SMA. Follow the link to iTunes, here. Buy this collection of gorgeous lullabies and help The Getty Owl Foundation with a click of your mouse (well, two clicks, an Apple ID, and one more click).

You can also purchase it via the Lullabies for Getty site, here.


Now go. Go tweet, blog, FB post, and email about the day The Damnwells and Getty Owl crossed paths and changed the face of SMA forever.



Happy Birthday, Getty Storm, you are lovely and amazing.

Wish big, little one. xo a.

 

“Sing little child,

And the whole world

will sing back to you.

And light up all the stars.”

My Light, Angela and Alex Dezen

5 thoughts on “This right here. This post. This is why I blog.

  1. Rebecca

    I’m going to purchase these lullabies right now and when I listen to them with my son I will hold him a little tighter and keep beautiful Getty Storm in my thoughts. Thank you for bringing this cause to my attention, Alex. You are lovely and amazing as well.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Wow. | the818.com

  3. Pingback: Thursday Purgeday: More Stuff | alexandrawrote

  4. Pingback: Simply Overwhelmed! « Gettyowl's Blog

  5. Pingback: you’ve got to have friends | alexandrawrote

Leave a Reply

