Be The Change: A Lullaby, A Giveaway

Oh, Peace, Sweet Water Child: Lullabies for Getty

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better.  It’s not.  – Dr. Seuss

If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito.  – Betty Reese

(TEENSY UPDATE: I’m blaming Mercury in Retrograde, Passover, Easter, and a slew of other things, but this is going to be a chaotic week. So, This giveaway will go through Wednesday. xo a.)

I grew up in a family that has always been involved with non-profit organizations – from fundraising to helping coordinate events to serving on boards of directors – my entire life I was taught that that we truly must be the change we want to see in the world. Because it is ours to do.

And I learned very early on that the real work, the real rewards, come behind the scenes. And that work is unpaid, long hours filled with passion and frustration and late night brainstorming sessions, and brilliant inspiration, and collapsing in gleeful exhaustion once an event has ended.

And the events always end. And the generous supporters return to their daily to-dos – life goes on for them. But for those we’ve supported through cocktail parties and telethons and 10Ks and benefits, they return to the same lives and same struggles they faced the day before.

I’ve known Morgan of the818 most of my life. I have never met Getty Emilia Storm. But I think they are both extraordinary. Morgan for spearheading the cause inspired by little Getty. Getty, and her family, for bringing the realities of SMA into the consciousness of people everywhere.

And to Angela and Alex Dezen, who could have more than content making people happy with their music as The Damnwells. Who chose to make an album that brought beautiful music into the world for the greater good of Getty and all SMA families.

For Morgan and Getty and Angela and Alex – and sooo many others – the release of Lullabies for Getty was not a one-day deal. And that is why we must keep spreading the word about this album.

Supporting causes close to my heart has allowed me to do some pretty cool things in my life. I’ve met inspiring, incredible people. I’ve traveled. I’ve been in the circus.

I’ve found myself humbled in ways I never imagined. I’ve learned the meaning of gratitude. Of generosity. Of hope. Why is it that in giving I always feel I am the one who receives?

I’m giving away a copy of Lullabies for Getty on iTunes.

I am grateful to the people who worked to make this album possible. I am grateful for the fact that the Storm family fights to be the change in SMA. I still can’t believe that supporting SMA means we get the gift of this gorgeous music.

To enter, tweet or Facebook post a link about Lullabies for Getty and share it with me, here and I’ll announce the winner on Wednesday night.

If you already have the album, please tweet or post about the album, too.

Be the change. xo a.

One thought on “Be The Change: A Lullaby, A Giveaway

  1. Pingback: you’ve got to have friends | alexandrawrote

Leave a Reply

