five great things someone else said, vol 10

As a writer, I started to blog thinking it was merely an extension of what I already do. But I was wrong. Because normally it’s me behind a byline or masthead or script cover page or a camera lens. But now it’s just me. Not behind anything.

And the Internet is quite a gigantic soapbox to call one’s own.

I’ve guest posted for years, but I’m still very new at being a blogger in my own right. And I sometimes wonder if the way I do things is kind of like that scene in Mr. Mom where Michael Keaton attempts the school drop-off run for the first time.

Beyond the writing is the reading. How do you do it? Subscriptions? Readers? Apps?

I generally just type in an address or click a link, leaving the tabs up until I have a chance to read the posts throughout the day. If I’m on the laptop, security settings lead to a lockdown every few minutes if I step away  (If someone is to ever steal it, I’m going to make it difficult for them to use it). So each time I log back in, the browser reloads with tabs from last time, which I now realize could probably make for wacky site stats. Internet, I am sorry. I had no idea.

And then there are comments. I don’t leave enough. I tend to overthink it. I’ll write something, reread it, then wonder if it sounds lame and decide not to hit ‘publish.’ (Please tell me I am not the only one who does this.) But I need to comment more. Because there is great stuff out there.

Writers and artists and designers and dreamers and doers – great things are going on here. Things that would not be happening without the existence of social media. (Malcolm Gladwell, I only half-agree with you. Sorry.)

Fellow bloggers, I applaud you for having the courage to present the world as you see it. Many of you with a candor and style I only wish I could possess.

I’ll do my best to tell you more often in that comment box.

xo a.

In honor of the blogosphere, five great things someone else said that inspire me to post. Maybe you’ll find one or two that inspire you, too.

Since you cannot do good to all, you are to pay special attention to those who, by the accidents of time, or place, or circumstances, are brought into closer connection with you. – Augustine of Hippo

If my life wasn’t funny it would just be true, and that is unacceptable. – Carrie Fisher

Good writing does not succeed or fail on the strength of its ability to persuade. It succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head. – Malcolm Gladwell

I nod to a passing stranger, and the stranger nods back, and two human beings go off, feeling a little less anonymous.  – Robert Brault

Write down the thoughts of the moment. Those that come unsought for are commonly the most valuable. – Francis Bacon

3 thoughts on “five great things someone else said, vol 10

  1. Vee

    I use Google Reader, it makes reading blogs so much easier and faster and I pick and choose which I want to read at that moment, because I may only have a moment. I try and leave comments on everything I read but sometimes I get pulled away by a little monster half way through something and never get back to it. Comment as you wish, I am sure anything you write would be appreciated. I know I like it if people just pop on and say hi so I know they are around. Good Luck and I love the quotes.

    Reply
  2. rach aka stink-bomb

    i’m with Vee, i too use Google Reader, it makes it so much easier to keep track of everything [before i “trimmed” my reader, i was subscribed to nearly 250 blogs and some days i would have 400+ posts to read!! now i just follow who and what i love – the only requirement is that i MUST “get something” eg connect in someway, from their writing 🙂 ].

    as for commenting, it doesn’t have to be long, it doesn’t have to be witty, it just has to be! i wrote my little note on my sidebar about leaving me a pebble [o] in the comments because ANY mark to say you’ve been is better than nothing at all 🙂

    ~x~

    Reply
  3. edenland

    I use a stupid, haphazard method. Mostly it’s just my blogroll. I over-think comments all the time! And I love that quote by Malcom Gladwell. XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

