five great things someone else said, vol. 11

My love-hate relationship with the Internet is mostly made up of love. The downside comes when time seems to vanish before my eyes, when one article on one site links me to another and then another, and suddenly what seemed productive turns into a black hole of time suckage.

There’s a lot of information in the Information Age, and sometimes I have to step away and remind myself that I don’t need to know it all.

When did I become a procrastinator? Me?

I am eternally grateful that I was well through college before we had modems that did not make high-pitched, screeching sounds while ‘signing on’ and ran at a speed that often made me wonder if it was little more than a hamster on a wheel. As teens, when my sister and I were forced to pay attention to the clock, and be responsible about modem minutes, well, we used the computer for what we needed and then we stepped away. And lost ourselves in books and movies and music and running around with our friends. Not Facebook. The thing didn’t exist.

(Seriously, I can’t even begin to imagine adolescence with Facebook. Because it’s hard enough when you think your friends are going to hang out at the mall without you, but it must be crushing to see it posted in a status update. Kids, play nice.)

But there are times when the time that seems wasted really turns into something wonderful. Like when I read a great article on The New Yorker’s blog or hear a great song on Pandora or watch a great animated film about procrastinating found at GOOD magazine’s website.

So, give yourself a break. Take a nap. Go find pictures in clouds. Watch paint dry. Do nothing for a little while. The rest can wait.

Because how do you appreciate time if we never seem to have any?

xo a.

And now, five great things someone else said about time:

You must have been warned against letting the golden hours slip by; but some of them are golden only because we let them slip by.  – J.M. Barrie

The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.Bertrand Russell Marthe Troly-Curtin

They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself. – Andy Warhol

It is not enough to be busy… The question is: what are we busy about? – Henry David Thoreau

Nothing is worth more than this day. – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

2 thoughts on “five great things someone else said, vol. 11

  1. Luna

    I can’t even imagine being on Facebook as a teen. It is painful to witness the daily drama of my 13yo niece and her friends as they reveal so much in moments of insecurity.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: post-it | alexandrawrote

Leave a Reply

