five great things someone else said, vol 15

I’m sorry. I used to say that a lot. I wasn’t really aware of it until someone would point it out, and then I would say, well, I’d say I was sorry. In high school, I had a friend who did me a huge favor by calling me out on it. And in doing so the habit broke, to some degree.

While I once may have had said it too often, there are those for whom the words can never come. I don’t believe that people should be coerced into apology – how often have you heard a parent say, “Tell them you’re sorry,” when what the child really needs is to simply know what they’ve done wrong and absorb that information first? The same goes for adults.

I was speaking with someone the other day about the two statements I find some people absolutely incapable of, two statements that often travel in pairs: I don’t know and I was wrong. If people could learn to embrace the former as a perfectly adequate response, and the latter as something that shows strength instead of some supposed weakness, I can’t begin to imagine the lines of communication that could open.

We all make mistakes. We all find ourselves in moments without the tools to handle a situation. We’re all have said the wrong thing at the wrong time.

We’re all geniuses and idiots depending on the time or place.

And yet it pains me to see how some are simply incapable of acknowledging that. Embracing that they are human – be it children in the sandbox or adults on Capitol Hill. And I am sorry for them, no pun intended. I really am. xo a.

And so, five great things someone else said about being human.

Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind. – Henry James

Through error you come to truth. I am a man because I err. You never reach any truth without making fourteen mistakes, likely 114. – Feodor Dostoyevsky

It is an ironic habit of human beings to run faster when they have lost their way. -Rollo May

When the Japanese mend broken objects, they aggrandize the damage by filling the cracks with gold. They believe that when something’s suffered damage and has a history it becomes more beautiful.- Barbara Bloom

Failure is an event, never a person. – William D. Brown

Leave a Reply

