Looking for that Monday Funday: Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive

You’ve got to accentuate the positive. Eliminate the negative.

Latch on to the affirmative. Don’t mess with Mister In-Between. – Arlen & Mercer

An incredible friend of mine once made me a compilation he calls M+A’s Finite Playlist – including this song. It’s a playlist I shuffle quite often. And every time I hear this song, I think of him.

Life is ridiculously unpredictable sometimes. Bring joy up to the maximum. Wherever you can. Whenever you can. Even on Mondays, fundays or not so much.

I used to think, OK, Monday. Start with the hard stuff. Get that done first. Only there are times when it’s all seemingly hard stuff, and then what do you do? Accentuate the positive, find your groove and let things fall into place.

Often that groove is called Tuesday, so be patient.

And sometimes you just need a little Sam Cooke to get you going – no messing with Mister In-Between. xo a.

2 thoughts on “Looking for that Monday Funday: Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive

  1. Denis Wright (@deniswright)

    As a corollary to this, I think it’s important to acknowledge the negatives, but yes, focus most on the positives. I don’t know if you got round to reading one of my latest blog postings, about having the mind of a kitten, but here I go again. I started to write a short response to yours, but then the déjà-vu-all-over-again (!) feeling hit me, and I remembered I’d written a blog entry called…. wait for it… Accentuating the positive – and I think you’d like it very much, if you will do me the honour of reading it.

    http://deniswright.blogspot.com/2011/06/accentuating-positive.html

    People will accept even harsh criticism if it’s done the right way.

    I’ll tell you something weird, Ms Alex. You’re a young woman (unless you’re cheating with those pics, and I don’t think you are), and I’m a bloke now almost in the middle of his seventh decade, but I read your blog frequently and I can’t believe how often the framework of our thought processes, and sometimes the thoughts themselves, happen to coincide. Very different in other ways, of course! (You’d want to be.)

    Don’t worry; I’m hardly stalker material. You know my story. Keep writing….

    Denis

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      Unfortunately, I wrote a response that was deleted. Oh, technology.

      Thank you for the link to your post. As I wrote, before it was lost, i promise the photos are real. I am young-ish. But the reason Forster’s “Only connect” is in my blog header is because I truly believe that through the blogosphere I find, time and again, we have more in common than we might otherwise believe. Across generations, continents, entire hemispheres.

      I don’t live my life with rose-colored glasses on, I’m not one who does well with denial, but I find that sometimes things happen and the only way to make cope/comprehend is to find the reasons to find the positive. The negatives must be dealt with but, like constructive criticism, we have to find the energy to propel us forward. And listening to Sam Cooke is always a good way to start 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

