five great things someone else said, vol 26

not much going on at chez alexandra wrote

So, remember last week when I had pleurisy? Well, after a week of feeling not so hot, I just didn’t think it was of the pleurisy variety. I’ve never been someone who reads a list of symptoms and thinks I’m dying, but as I read more on pleurisy I became more and more convinced I didn’t have it. Like some sort of reverse hypochondria. I had all the symptoms but one – stabbing pain. I had pain, pain that is almost gone, but it wasn’t stabbing. It was kind of like ripping or tearing. Which is exactly what I told the doctors and nurses in the ER. Who then told me it was pleurisy. (I think an ER misdiagnosis should somehow make for a discounted bill, don’t you?) As per doctors orders, I rested, which was good. Because I was kind of exhausted. But the pain remained stab-free. Very uncomfortable but not stabby.

I went to the doctor yesterday. And guess what? Not pleurisy. I’m the respiratory virus Nancy Drew. So, I’m using the right meds and am no longer contagious and ready to get off the sofa and out of the house.

TV, tea, and twitter, I love you, but I’m ready to get back to living. I’m not very good at not doing anything. It’s something worth working on once I can take deep breaths again.

Au revoir, pleurisy. I am no longer an illness elitist. But I am happy I trusted my gut and called a doctor. Because medicine is a science but also an art. And they don’t always get it right the first time. And you might end up spending a week resting but not getting rest because the inflammation in your damn chest needs anti-inflammatories. Ugh, I’m out of breath. xo a.

And now, five great things someone else said about following your instincts:

At times you have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself. – Alan Alda

Instinct is a marvelous thing. It can neither be explained nor ignored. – Agatha Christie

The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift. – Albert Einstein

Trust instinct to the end, even though you can give no reason. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Don’t try to comprehend with your mind. Your minds are very limited. Use your intuition. – Madeleine L’Engle

Leave a Reply

