fall-ish

Aprils have never meant much to me, autumns seem that season of beginning, spring. – Truman Capote, Breakfast at Tiffany’s

It’s still eighty-something degrees outside and yet I’m wading in projects for a winter wonderland. The holidays are all around me. I’m writing about it on assignment, working on holiday cards for the store and doing holiday photo shoots for clients. I gaze longingly at the sweaters and tights and the boots collecting dust in my closet and then shut the door. I wonder if it will ever be cold again. Ever. I’ve taken to Pinterest, creating boards of things I can’t wait to wear.

This time last year I was in Vancouver, loving every minute of the colder temps, the rain, the not-LA-ness of it all. I love LA, I do. But as I sit here, writing about holidays past and penning card designs, I wish I could tell the change of season by more than just the arrival of pumpkin lattes at Starbucks.

Hurry up fall. I’m waiting.  xo a.

3 thoughts on “fall-ish

  1. Alexandria

    I’ve been obsessively pinning all kinds of fall clothes, recipes, & decorating ideas. But it feels so weird because it’s so warm outside. This will be our first fall in LA. When can I pull out cable knits & boots?!

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      No guarantees, but in about two weeks expect the winds to start, and it should be cool enough by Halloween that you’ll be able to wear those boots and sweaters when you take your son trick or treating! Just don’t be too surprised if we have a few heat spikes between now and the holidays.

      Reply
  2. Peter Tonguette

    Growing up in Louisiana, one of the ways I imagined autumn in other parts of the country was through reading novels such as Ray Bradbury’s SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES, with lines like, “And if it’s around October twentieth and everything smoky-smelling and the sky orange and ash gray at twilight…” Very evocative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

