five great things someone else said, vol. 30

It’s a grasshopper..because I didn’t have a photo I’d taken of crickets.

Yes, it has been quiet here. Sometimes the freelance juggle is a bit more jiggly than others times. This is one of those times. I love that I have a career that’s multi-hyphenated. The downside is that sometimes something’s gotta give. For the moment, it’s been this site. A site that needs a virtual Swiffer to wipe away the  dust it’s collecting.

Between holiday photo shoots and TYPE A clients and writing, my plate is full. And that’s a good thing.

We talk about finding balance in life, but really, more than anything, I think it’s about learning to trip and make an fool of myself  and laugh and just keep carrying on. That said, I am falling, with some attempt at grace, as a blogger. But the other stuff I do gets 100% of my attention right now, so the trade-off isn’t really so bad. The pendulum will swing soon. Because, as you know, freelancing is always feast or famine. xo a.

Five great things someone else said that inspire me right now this very moment:

Wit has truth in it; wisecracking is simply calisthenics with words. – Dorothy Parker

Reading, conversation, environment, culture, heroes, mentors, nature – all are lottery tickets for creativity. Scratch away at them and you’ll find out how big a prize you’ve won. – Twyla Tharp, The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life

Keep in mind that the true measure of an individual is how he treats a person who can do him absolutely no good. – Ann Landers

The moment we cry in a film is not when things are sad but when they turn out to be more beautiful than we expected them to be. – Alain de Botton

Some people have a way with words….some people….not have way. – Steve Martin

9 thoughts on “five great things someone else said, vol. 30

  1. cuhome

    Nice post that I think pretty accurately describes how all of us writers feel from time to time, or even, most of the time. We get a boost, because we can just feel it in our bones, and others note that with comments, or at least “likes”. Other times, it’s nearly a blank, and that, we can also feel in our bones. I think any of the arts are that way. The truth is, there are so many amazingly talented people out there, and only so many places to publish. But to me, writing feeds me, gives me the nourishment I need~~kind of like waiting all day for the turkey dinner, while smelling those wonderful aromas wafting through the air, and finally, finally, we get to plunge in, savoring all those wonderful things we’ve been anticipating. When I write a good piece, I can feel it. Other times, it’s a push, and I know it. There are times when words flow from my head to my hand to the computer, and there’s hardly a pause… those are the good ones. Feast or famine. That is a good way to describe it, Alexandra. Thanks for helping the rest of us feel connected, by sharing your experience via this post!

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      I see some people put a tremendous amount of pressure on themselves to post, and feel a failure when they don’t. The same things happens as a writer. At times we are prolific and the words flow, at others we have to work to find the words. So often it is the latter, although, if we’re lucky, the former kicks in.

      Reply
  2. Lauren

    I think you’ve accurately described how I’m feeling these days too! Both the writing and the photography and the glued to my computer and the mad dashes to school for something my son needs and to the vet for a sick dog…and on and on and on.

    I appreciate your insights and your inspirational quotes.

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      As I said to someone the other day (tweeted actually), it’s times like this that I realize some good things, too. I really prioritize. Not just in the sense of deadlines, but in terms of where I put my energy. I learn to say “No” when I generally am a “Yes, sure, anything” sort of person. It’s OK to say no sometimes. It’s not my nature, but it can be a good thing.

      Reply
  3. rewindrevise

    Beautiful post! I am actually trying to move towards supporting myself freelance as a writer and reader. But I am working full time, plus freelance gigs, plus blogging daily. Last night not only did I trip, I fell on my face with burn out and hopelessness. How will this every happen for me when I have so much debt? And what if it just doesn’t? But after some great tweets (thank you!) I went to bed with a laugh and woke up to day ready to start the whole thing over once more.

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      I know I am a quote hoarder, but I guess they’re my version of self help books. And much shorter to read. A freelance life is tough, and I’ve made certain choices (I don’t consider them sacrifices) in order to do it, but I’m happy. I also don’t know any different, so I guess that plays a role, too. (Ignorance is bliss?)

      Reply
  4. Theresa

    I love each and every one of these quotes, especially the Twyla Tharp one. Her book is on my “To Read” List. I also appreciate your tweets as they’re always filled with humor, insight, or both. All of it: Always inspiring. Cheers!

    Reply
    1. alexandrawrote Post author

      I highly recommend Tharp’s book. I read it when it first came out about 8 years ago and still return to it. I don’t dance, am a terrible dancer, and yet within the creative process so much is similar not matter your craft. It isn’t about inspiration flowing at a whim. It is about habits and highly unglamorous, hard work. But when it all comes together, it’s pretty fabulous. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

