A Manifesto For Kindness ©kellyexeterI love that writing If Emily Posted has introduced me to all sorts of people across the blogosphere. People who want to blog with integrity. People who want to be respected for their talent and their ethics. People who believe social media needs work and are willing to put the time into it.

It has also opened my eyes to things going on I had no clue about that concern me. And so, when I’m not working, I am here. I am researching and talking to others and writing If Emily Posted with the hope of bringing the conversation to the table: a dialogue about a civilized web. Because this one is tangled and needs some working out.

Social media is filled with the good, the bad and the ugly. I prefer to highlight the good, question the bad and stay away from the ugly.

But here’s the thing. As this New York Times article so aptly put it, “Bad impressions and bad stereotypes are quicker to form and more resistant to disconfirmation than good ones.”

So, a few unethical bloggers lead to generalizations that blogging isn’t to be taken seriously. A few bloggers gathering in online chat rooms to complain about other bloggers, which is then leaked to other bloggers and reinforces the Mean Girls stereotypes that need no further promotion.

About a month ago, I was at an event supporting A is For. Sarah Silverman spoke and said something that applies across the board about women – be it politics or in business (and blogging is a business for so many).

“People are conquered when they let themselves be divided. In a very unsaid, intangible way, women are encouraged to stand apart from each other. We’re almost rewarded for it. The worst thing that could happen to people that don’t want us to be strong is that we stick together and become a force.”

It stayed with me because I hated how much I agreed with it. How much I have seen it my entire life. How I have been part of it and also hurt by it. How much I am over it.

So, in keeping with the idea of being a force to be reckoned with, I want to share with you a few great reads. Things I am finding online and off that reinforce my belief we can do better.

This Babble article Outboarding: Are Off-site Conference Parties Unethical? by Cecily of Uppercase Woman was an eye opener. With conferences almost weekly this time of year, the issue of outboarding is one people need to be talking about.

If we want community, we need to band together. We need to value those that make these conferences possible or else risk losing them.

Another was this piece, It’s Not Cruel To Be Kind by Kelly at A Life Less Frantic. A reminder that what we say and do as bloggers matters. (FYI, bloggers are liable for slander, so mindful blogging isn’t just about being nice.)

Kelly was kind enough to share the link so that you can download the PDF of her Manifesto for Kindness here.

Let’s be the force. All for one and one for all.

4 thoughts on “All For One And One For All: Good Reads

  1. Kelly Exeter

    Thanks so much for sharing the Manifesto for Kindness here Alexandra – I love that people love it … and that they think they are lovely words to live by 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

