I have a business called TYPE A, and as much as I like to think that it’s mostly a play on words, some days it’s more than apparent it’s not. I never thought of listmaking and daily habits as being contrary to the creative process – I do my best work when my ducks are in a row rather than scattered about. Right now, I am in the midst of the busiest time of year, when photography and writing and calligraphy design work take on the holidays.

I continue to be fascinated by all I am reading about the screens that fill our days – from our desks to the palms of our hands. Just knowing the amount of time it can take to refocus after stopping a task to check an email makes me see how much of my day is spent hitting reset. Or rather, how often I am thinking about too many things making it impossible to be in the moment.

The mystery as to where my focus has gone is solved. I assume that it will always be where I last left it. Instead, it’s a bit more like needing a trail of breadcrumbs to lead me back to where I was before the email, the text, the tweet, grabbed my attention. And it doesn’t always blend well with work that is constantly changing. Freelancing is a never ending calendar of deadlines and new beginnings.

I’m writing a lot more on paper these days. And back to my old habit of two or three books on my nightstand. My focus is still awful on some days. Others, I check off each project in my Day Designer with the satisfaction of knowing I did not let all the little distractions win. They add up.

I love the internet for about ten thousands reasons. I also love when I can step away and not feel that being unplugged is a loss. It’s bizarre to see how hard this is sometimes. Not because I lack all willpower, but because so much of what I do is made easier by the web. Figuring out how to navigate that is still tricky. The last three years things sped up so much.

So, I’m making a list of things I learned online in the last year. Things I’ve changed. Things I’m changing. Things I won’t change. Retrospect is kind of a pain in the ass but it can also teach me a thing or two. Strangely, technology is helping me to make better use of technology.

On the twelfth day of the twelfth month of the twelfth year of this twenty-first century, I’m…

Sorry, but three emails just arrived, and I had to check them. And by had to, I mean I could not wait until I finished these few lines in order to see what it was all about. Yes, I am waiting on things but they could have waited a moment longer.

On the twelfth day of the twelfth month of the twelfth year of this twenty-first century, I’m officially a work in progress.

Stay tuned.

One thought on “making a list…

Leave a Reply

