Of all the things that have surprised me in the few years I’ve had an iPhone is that suddenly this photographer is in a lot more photos. For years, I’ve carried a camera most places. Documenting, capturing, observing. Always a point and shoot in my purse, usually a bigger camera. Rarely was I ever in the picture.

I’ve always taken photos in reflection, but not like this. Suddenly, for the first time in years, I have a record of myself that I haven’t known since I was little. I can’t decide if the I in iPhoneography, is narcissistic or just the new norm. What I do know is I’m glad to have these moments after a year that passed in a whirl.

I don’t remember the last time a year was so hard and exhausting, and I’m glad to have a lot of photos that remind me of the good and the bad. The losses and gains. I don’t remember the last time I traveled so much either. Self portraits capture me here in LA, on several trips to NY, a few more to Detroit, saying hellos in Savannah, goodbyes in Palm Springs.

I know it’s only a day that separates one year from the next, but I was ready for that calendar change. Ready to say hello to the teens. Ready to clear out the camera roll and make room for new good, new challenges, new laughter to be captured.

Bring it on, 2013. Bring it on. That’s my mantra.

Leave a Reply

