petal-hummingbird-©alexandrawrote

intelContent and/or other value provided by our partner, Intel.

Disclosure: I received a Samsung ATIV tablet, as part of the #IntelTablets #TabletCrew but any and all opinions will be mine and mine alone – otherwise, I’d have to change the name of the blog. And I don’t want to do that.

If there was ever a doubt that cycles are hard to break, daylight-savings has occurred every year of my life, and each year it knocks me out of orbit for a few days. I’ll be working, and the sun is shining, and I realize it’s after 6pm, and wait, SIX? AT NIGHT? I gain an hour of sunlight, but feel like I’ve missed something along the way.

We had a bit of a summer sneak peek in LA last week, so I was working outside in the mornings and indoors as the day went on. (Happy to say that Dropbox makes working remotely on the tablet PC and in the office on a Mac a no-brainer.)

An unexpected bonus of more work en plain air is that along with my tablet and tea, I grabbed a camera as I headed outside. Cameras that have been collecting dust as I write more than I photograph. DSLRs left behind as my phone became my convenient point and shoot.

The first few days I sat outside writing, I noticed the neighborhood Cooper Hawk circling high above the Italian Cypresses (I’m sure there’s more than one hawk, but the idea of a group of them freaks me out). I saw hummingbirds flitting to and fro in the vines 15 feet overhead.

I grabbed my phone and took a few photos. The next day, I did the same with my camera. As I uploaded the shots, I looked at the things I captured that my phone never could. The same the next day.

I traveled and took a lot of photos last year, but there were a few times I didn’t bring an actual camera. A first for me, and a last. I loved the idea of being able to take pictures without a fuss. Without worrying about lenses or batteries. It seemed so convenient.

I’m generally happy with phone shots, I am, yet the pictures are often missing something when I look at them in print. They lack depth – visually and emotionally – that no app can create. Behind the camera, I wait to capture a moment. Holding up my phone, it’s just not the same thing.

A couple days ago, I was asked whether I liked this tablet PC as much as the iPad by a friend. I realized it was like the phone/camera analogy. Sometimes the iPad can conveniently do things I used to need

more equipment for, and that’s great, but it’s not a computer. This is a computer, and I appreciate all the things it can do without settling.

It’s becoming something of a 21st century trend to justify things we trade for the ability to save time, isn’t it? In writing If Emily Posted, whether it be about social media time management, understanding geotags or other social media concerns, rather than deal with what frustrates us, we tend to think of convenience as a reason to give up or get less.

I joined the Intel #TabletCrew with the intention of a PC platform and apps being good for IEP. Unexpectedly, it reminds me that having everything all in one place (“simplify, simplify, simplify”) is only a good thing if an all-in-one doesn’t mean I give up quality for convenience.

When it comes to life with screens, I’m often excusing the one for the other. In the case of the Samsung ATIV, less is not less. Except in size, which means there’s more room in my bag for my camera. And with DST, a bit more sunlight in my day. Win win.

dst-alexandrawrote-©alexashersears

Leave a Reply

