I saw this video thanks to Charlie at How To Be A Dad. And after watching it twice, I had to email it to my dad and tell him to stop what he was doing and watch it right now. (Well, maybe it was a bit less dramatic, but in my head that was what I was thinking.)

A few hours later, I got a phone call. I could hear my dad smiling through the phone.

And all I could think about were the marathon car singalongs we’ve shared. My mother loves music, but unlike my father, she prefers listening to singing along. With my dad, my sister and I always sang. Always.

Over thirty years ago, we began singing together. To Sam Cooke. To The Beatles. To Paul Simon and so many more.

As we drove up to Big Bear in the snow. As we cruised to sunny Palm Springs. As we sped through the canyons in his convertibles, or trudged along trafficky freeways of this city.

Just two days ago, he was telling me about playing the Annie soundtrack on loop on Big Bear treks when I was really little. (It was my favorite.)

Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya tomorrow…” for hours on end – he was, and is, the most patient father in the world.

Watch, listen, smile.

P.S. Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers also do a beautiful cover of this song. Only connect…

3 thoughts on “Thank You For The Music

Leave a Reply

