baking pumpkin break instagram

P.S. Are we following each other on Instagram?

I often cringe when I hear myself saying how quickly time flies, deeply aware that as a child it was he sort of thing I hated hearing adults say. But they did. All of the time. And I didn’t understand, couldn’t understand, because when we’re little it seems that time can never move fast enough.

But wow, wow, wow, lately time seems to be going so fast, so beyond my control (it never really was in my control to begin with, but that’s beside the point), it’s exhausting. Or perhaps it’s just that I’m exhausted.

I’m exhausted. Totally. You?

Lately I’ve been baking a lot, which really is one of my favorite ways to slow down. Waiting for an oven to preheat offers not quite scientific proof that, at times, minutes actually slow down. To a crawl.

Baking almost daily has become a ritual – I’m perfecting recipes for half and quarter batches of cookies and breads and cakes, and when that fails, I share with friends and family. (The new way of prepping flaxseed meal as a sub for eggs continue to make me ridiculously happy.)

Eventually, I’d like to be able to recreate that scene in Bridesmaids where she makes a single cupcake (minus the fondant flowers because even I know my limits). But I kind of love the idea of all that attention for something so simple. Also, portion control.

Yesterday, I made a pot of tea just before I put a batch of pumpkin bread into the oven. While it baked, I did not write a story. I did not do any calligraphy. I did not pass go. I did not collect $200.

I put down all the pens, I closed the screens and enjoyed the quiet in those 25 minutes. And then I returned back to the busy of the holiday season, which in my work begins in September and ends in the first weeks of the new year.

I’m a four cuppa a day kind of girl, at minimum, but I really look forward to this one in late afternoon. Because for whatever reason, this year when the clocks fell back, I never seemed to catch up.tea alexandrawrote instagram

I thought I was the only one, but I feel like everyone I talk to is saying the same thing. Something is in the air this season that has made the time change a tougher adjustment. Stir in Thanksgivukkah this week, a bunch of holiday TYPE A orders to send off, new ones to finish and desserts to bake. With nine fingers, this is all proving to be a little challenging, but doable. And it makes that tea time really something I treasure.

When Lipton invited me to try their new Natural Energy Tea, which naturally has 75 mg of caffeine (yay) and 20 mg of amino acid L-theanine (yay, again), I was more than happy to partake.

More energy (thanks, caffeine), more focus (thanks, L-theanine) and a little quiet time with a cup of tea before I get back in the holiday rush (thanks, me). I’m loving it. Because right now I can totally use it, you?lipton tea alexandra wrote

This post was created in connection with my appointment as an Ambassador in the
Lipton Blogger Program. Visit www.facebook.com/Lipton to join the conversation.

One thought on “Hurry Up And Slow Down

  1. Andrew

    The time change has had the same effect on me. A little more caffeine sounds good. Wish I had some pumpkin bread to go with it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

